Homesick

I’ve been having a hard day. I think I’m homesick.

I miss my bed and my mom and my sister. I miss my family and my boyfriend. I miss waking up on the weekend and messaging my boyfriend to see what we should eat for lunch. I miss having dinner with my mom. I miss being lazy with my sister.

I don’t want to sound unappreciative of this trip. I’m happy to have this opportunity to see new things and to spend time with K and H.

But I’ve been feeling off all day. That uneasy feeling in my stomach just won’t go away.

Anyways…

H came home from school and we had leftover cold noodles. There was only a bit leftover from the other day, so H made us eggs.

image

I tried to take a nap while H started her homework, but I couldn’t get settled. Then H started getting sucky. Then K called to ask if we could meet at 2:30, but it was already 1:40ish – hardly enough time to get ready, get H ready, walk to the subway, and finally get to her building…especially with a sucky little girl. K called and talked to H and H cried and got even suckier.

We started walking to the station. H lagged behind. Did not help my mood, neither did the heat.

H finished her homework pages in the cafe and K surprised us by showing up. We (HEN) walked to the underground mall and did some shopping. I bought quite a few items. Something small for my mom too, but I’m still stumped as to what to get for her – that wouldn’t count as junk.

We’re having Korean BBQ tonight. K said its her favourite thing to eat out. Strikes me as a little ironic for a Japanese person to favor Korean BBQ, funny ironic not weird ironic.

Are you looking forward to the pictures of Korean BBQ as much as I’m looking forward to eating it?

3 thoughts on “Homesick

  1. yes, I can’t wait to read the next post already! Korean bbq is a great social eating experience. but, I find the food all starts to taste the same after a while. and when you have too many people, by the time the first round of food is cooked you’ve only had one piece and have to wait again.

Leave a Reply

