The Angels in Heaven Rejoice!

I went to bed after midnight last night, but before I did I read my Bible app’s verse of the day.

Isaiah 40:31 NIV
“but those who hope in the Lord  will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.”

I had just written a post about my grandmother. I wrote about the hope I have in my God, and how my heart breaks because I saw the hopelessness in her eyes.

It is always, always hard to witness to your family…to those closest to your heart. Their hearts are hardened and when you are that close it is easy for them to dismiss the urgency of having Christ in your life.

When I pray for my grandmother, I pray the Lord eases her pain. I pray that he gives her good rest, that he comforts her and wraps his arms around her and gives her peace that transcends all understanding. I pray that he changes her heart, that she will hear and fell my (all of the) prayers that are raised for her. I pray that she will believe and find hope in our God.

It is always hard to convince my grandmother of anything. She is subservient to my grandfather and still manages to simultaneously be the most stubborn person I know. She has always said that it’s okay because she tries to do good things and be a good person.

I wasn’t there, but earlier today on December 30, 2013, through God’s will, my great-aunt from Australia lead my grandmother to Jesus Christ.

My aunt called me immediately after it happened. I screamed for joy. I had a huge grin on my face. Even as I write this post, my eyes are brimming with tears of happiness and joy that there is so much hope for her now. She is a child of God.

But soon after that rush of emotions, thoughts muddled my excitement.

She had refused for so many years; I could only pray that her heart is genuine, that she understands.
She has God with her now; my selfish heart jumped to: does that mean she’s ready to live with Christ or will she love for him?

I…we must continue to pray for her. For her new relationship with God (oh, how I wish I could read scripture to her in Chinese), for her heart and mind. For healing.

A miracle happened thousands of year ago.

Jesus Christ died for my grandmother’s sins so that she might live in him, pure and blameless and holy in his eyes.

Praise the Lord.
God is good.
All the time. All the time.

Thank you, Jesus.

Amen.

One thought on “The Angels in Heaven Rejoice!

Leave a Reply

