Day 45

Soup’s on!

I attempted to make soup today. I didn’t follow any recipes or anything; I kinda just threw it all in the pot.

I bought a roasted chicken from Walmart. I took all the meat off the bones and shredded it with my fingers. Then I put the bones, a few pieces of meat, and the juices from the container into a pot with water.

I added in a chopped onion, baby carrots, baby potatoes, and mushrooms.

I seasoned with salt, pepper, oregano, and garlic.

It really wasn’t a slave over the stove all day kind of soup. I put all those things in a pot and let it boil until LG got home. When he was just about home, I boiled some wagon wheel macaroni in a separate pot to carb it up a bit.

It wasn’t bad. It wasn’t like my mom’s though; which I was subconsciously trying to emulate (I don’t know why though since I didn’t have almost half of the vegetables she usually incorporates).

His sister bought us a crockpot. So I think I’m going to try to make a stew next. You just prepare it and then set it and forget it (wrong product, I know), right? I’ve never stewed before so…I don’t know. Maybe I’ll wait for a weekend when LG is home while I’m cooking in case something goes wrong.

Anyways, boring and not so cute soup pictured below 🙂

image

Leave a Reply

