Day 66

I’m really sad. So sad.

But that’s getting ahead of myself.

My sister came over today. She just barged in like she owns the place. Anyways, we had some time between when she came over before I had to start making dinner, so we sat and bonding while watching House – that means I crocheted and she played Two Dots on her phone. Oh, I also fed her a chicken salad sandwich.

When Mom was on her way over and when LG messaged to say he was coming home, I started to get the things prepped. I washed the rice and got a pot of water ready to boil the broccoli and cauliflower. The fish had been defrosting since I took it out in the morning, so I drained it and tried to dry it a bit. I didn’t want to get too ahead of myself and season the fish because of something dreadful that happened before.

-FLASHBACK-

Back when we first got married and were home and having dinners just the two of us, I made this fish (cod btw). I wanted it seasoned yummy and mm mm good. I put salt, pepper, garlic powder, and just a touch of cumin. I cooked it in the pan. We sat down to eat, and it was salty beyond belief. That was so sad. But we realized it was because Google had taught us to freeze the fish in salt water; we figured the salt water had soaked into the fish and then I put more salt to season it before cooking.

-PRESENT TIME-

So when I got the fish ready tonight to cook on the George Foreman grill, I didn’t put any salt at all; just pepper and garlic powder.

Ugh, it was awful.

I was so sad because I was subjecting my husband, my sister, and my mother to this food. Good thing I had the salt and pepper at the table. I even brought over the soy sauce (think: Joy Luck Club) because it was that bad.

image

My mom texted me when she got home>

Mom: Thank u bobo for the yummy dinner…and I hope [LG] feels better…night night.

Me: It was awful. I’m sorry you had to eat it. I’m embarrassed.

Mom: O please it was fine…u haven’t seen awful…I didn’t even know how to boil water…

Thanks for the vote of confidence, Mom.

I have to admit, out of all the dinner I’ve cooked, the two times I made this cod were the worst. I don’t know what to do with it. Maybe I’ll try again in the pan next time; I’ll salt it still but just less? SAD!

Leave a Reply

