Day 73

His sister bought us a Crock-Pot as a wedding gift. It has been sitting pretty in a box since then (73 days), because I had no idea what to do with it.

I got the idea to try it out but first did a lot of Googling tips and tricks and Pinteresting for recipes. I needed something easy and that didn’t require anything that I would have to go out and buy. I was worried because most of the recipes I saw were for stews and soups and saucy things. Finally I found this one recipe for a roasted chicken that didn’t require any liquids.

I played on that recipe and used just chicken, potatoes, and onions. Gasp. Shock. What!

image

In a bowl, I dumped the chicken and sprinkled a whole bunch of stuff on top. I ‘marinated’ it with salt, pepper, garlic powder, oregano, and cumin seeds. I used my hands and mixed it all up so that the seasoning covered everything. Plastic wrapped the top and put it in the fridge. I did the same thing with the potatoes after halfing/quartering and washing them.

In the morning, LG put it in the pot all nice and cut up an onion (and the half leftover from the salmon) and layered it on top. He set it. I checked on it when I woke up, at lunch, and when I got home. I realized that I had wanted to drizzle some soy sauce on top but totally forgot.

The house smelled yummy; although LG came home and said that it smelled (I asked like what thinking that he would say yummy or good, but he said like chicken…). I made some pasta (with just butter and parmesan mixed in) to have on the side. Oh my goodness, dinner success feels good after a few blah meals.

image

2 thoughts on “Day 73

  1. […] blogging again, I’ve been trying to not make the same dinners over and over again. The last time I made this chicken, it was okay – a little under seasoned, a little boring, but not bad. […]

Leave a Reply

