102

image

LG got off work early and he was going to be home around the same time as me. Good thing he called, because we changed plans and met at my mom’s instead. He’d told my sister yesterday that he would help her with her car. I sat on the couch with my sister and bonded while LG worked on her car.

We’d decided that he would drop me off to babysit and pick me up after – that way we’d get to spend a little more time together since my evening was tied up.

After leaving my mom’s, we went home and he changed into home clothes. We got to the house a little early, so we had time to sit and talk a little bit. Sitting in the car the sun setting next to us, I praised God for bringing us together. It reminded me of our early days, when we used to sit in the car and talk all night. It reminded me that I’d usually be in my own car on a Wednesday evening instead of sitting with my husband and talking about our days.

When he came to pick me up later on, he switched over to the passenger side and waited for me to come out. He was asleep by the time I reached the car and slept the whole way home. We unloaded the car, and I tucked him into bed before going downstairs to have the pasta he’d packed for me that his mom made tonight.

I try not to be one of those girls who coos constantly about her love, but tonight I’m overwhelmed with how God has led me down this path to my husband. People roll their eyes (I do too), and people scoff and put us off as newlyweds; but I fought against everything to not be with him. In high school, I was too cool for school and too cool for him to date him. Even when we first started talking almost 4 years ago, I had no intention of loving him or growing old with him. Now here we are, married 102 days. We have a home. We have dinner together. We pay bills. We fail at baking together.

We’re building a life.

We pray that it’s a life that is pleasing to God and glorifies him.

Can’t wait to see what’s next.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.”

– Jeremiah 29: 11-13

 

P.S. I got sappy. Sorry not sorry. That’s what happens when I don’t cook and fail at it to write about; but I’m cooking tomorrow so look forward to no more sap!

Leave a Reply

