Get to Second Baseball, Baseball (156&157)

Yesterday I let the crockpot do the cooking. LG had done the grocery shopping over the weekend and brought home a steak. Now, I haven’t been very fond of frying up steaks on the stove ever since…did I tell you the proposalversary story? No? Maybe another time then.

I peeked around pinterest to see if there were any good ideas or recipes to cook steak in the crockpot. I found this one that I kind of tweaked here and there to work with the ingredients that we have in the house.

I don’t think I had the same cut of meat. I didn’t have beef broth so I used onion soup mix with water to substitute (they’re the same colour so that’s close enough, right?). I didn’t mince the onion; I just sliced it up instead. I didn’t add salt, because I figured the onion soup mix was salty enough as it is. I didn’t measure the garlic powder or the pepper or the butter; I just eyeballed it. So basically, I didn’t follow the recipe at all. I just adopted the general idea.

20160425_192535

After we ate, we got comfy on the couch to watch the baseball game. It was going so well, they had a good lead, and then it just went downhill fast. LG didn’t even bother trying to stay up for the rest of the game. I let him sleep, and I got myself a pear to snack on for the rest of the game. We really should have just gone to bed at that point instead of watching the game. That’s just time we’ll never get back. My pear was really good though.

20160425_221042

Tonight I made carbonara again. Of course I pulled up the old post from the first time I made it. I don’t know exactly what’s wrong with me, but I can’t seem to follow any recipes (that’s probably why I can’t bake…or cook for that matter). I get too free with the substitutions. I didn’t cook the bacon for as long as I did last time. I used three eggs instead of two. I added a splash of cream because I heard that makes for a creamier sauce. I used a different pasta. I added green beans.

20160426_194535

It actually didn’t turn out too horribly. It tasted just fine, but it tasted different from the last time (for many different reasons I’m sure). I also figured that it doesn’t look as pretty as other carbonaras because I just use the Kraft grated parmesan cheese and not a fresh parmesan.

20160426_195355

I think my goal in the kitchen from here on out will be that my food is consistent – consistently good or gradually getting better. Sigh, tough times.

Again we watched the game after dinner. At the beginning there is so much hope, you know, and then it just all goes down the drain. Maybe that’s why I never really followed sports; I just couldn’t handle the ups and the downs – I just don’t love sports enough to stick with ’em.

I did however have an apple with peanut butter that LG prepared for me.

“What’s taking so long? We have an apple cutter for a reason! Wait, are you peeling the skin off too?”

“Maybe.”

I’m not high maintenance. My husband just acts like I am…

 

PS who got that The Hot Chick reference?

 

Leave a Reply

