Telling LG

Drafted blog post about my first pregnancy.

If you didn’t read my last post, you should; otherwise this is going to be a huge spoiler!

Right after I took the test, I had to decide when to tell LG – right away or wait for the perfect moment.

I just can’t with surprises. So that meant I would do it right away…but how?

I did some Pinterest-ing. I did some Googling. I got bored and too excited and also lazy. I went with the whole ‘bun in the oven’ thing.

I took the test and put it in our oven. When LG called to tell me he was on the way home, I casually mentioned that I smelled something funny coming from our kitchen when I got home. He was all concerned and tried to play house doctor (Is it food? Is it burning? The fridge or the stove? Is it the microwave or maybe the toaster oven?) on the phone. Really? I told him to just come home and smell it for himself!

When he came in, the first thing he said was that he couldn’t smell anything (obviously). He sniffed around (literally). He opened the fridge and the freezer. He opened the toaster oven and stuck his head nice and close to it. He checked the microwave. And then, he PULLED the stove AWAY from the wall. Understandable, since we never use our oven so how could anything be wrong with it, but still. Sigh. I tried hinting at him and nudging him to open the oven.

Finally, he did.

20160513_184356

He paused for a long, long moment. He reached in to take the test out and get a good look at it. Then I heard something like a happy muffled sob/cry – you know, like when you’re grinning because you’re so happy but the happy tears are so ready.

He came over to where I was sitting on the stairs with a big smile on his face, “I don’t know why I didn’t clue in sooner!”

20160513_184410

Leave a Reply

