Our Second Pregnancy

Queued post about my second pregnancy.

 

“A ‘rainbow baby‘ is a baby that is born following a miscarriage, stillbirth, neonatal death or infant loss. In the real world, a beautiful and bright rainbow follows a storm and gives hope of things getting better. The rainbow is more appreciated having just experienced the storm in comparison.”

 

When I got my first period after the miscarriage, I convinced LG that it would be wise to buy a HCG test strips in bulk so that I could POAS (pee on a stick) to me heart’s content. When the package arrived, we noticed that they had sent us A LOT of LH test strips and only a handful of HCG test strips. Annoying. I started Googling away – maybe LH strips are an okay substitute to test for pregnancy? Eh, not really.

Because we only had a limited number of HCG tests, I POAS on the LH strips – always getting a faint second line (because apparently, LH is something that is always present in your body). I was discouraged and annoyed. I stepped out onto a limb and POAS on a HCG strip on day 27 of my cycle (not sure how many DPO because I don’t know exactly when I ovualted – guessing on day 22/23 based on specific cramping on my left side) but it was negative.

That was sad too. I tried looking back in my period app to May to see what kind of symptoms and tests I did before I got my BFP, but besides some minor cramping and tenderness I didn’t really test (because I didn’t have bulk).

This week, my period was due around days 34-36 give or take. When it didn’t come, I wasn’t too excited because I knew it was a possibility that my body could still just be regulative itself. First period after miscarriage was after 37 days, and the second period came after 38 days.

I didn’t let myself get too excited, BUT I was feeling some sorts of ways. I was tired – like I could feel it in my bones tired; but that could have been chalked up to waking up early regularly and chasing my niece around the house. My stomach was unhappy for like three days in a row – indigestion and gas and all upset; but that could have been because we’d been eating take out maybe. I was having headaches; but it was cloudy and air pressure stuff, you know. The last thing though was that I was experiencing breast tenderness/sensitivity; part of me said maybe it was because my period was coming, but really that never happens before a period.

I was hopeful when I got home. My SIL gave me an extra pregnancy test just for fun we said. I read the instructions and did the thing. I looked after a bit – negative. I dipped an HCG strip – negative. I told LG, and he went to go shower. I laid in bed for a bit, trying to clear my head – trying to convince myself that my period still hadn’t come, maybe the HCG levels just too low. Obsessive as I am, I got out of bed and checked the tests again.

Two lines.

Positive.

I’m pregnant.

Again.

I’m pregnant again.

Thank you, God.

One thought on “Our Second Pregnancy

Leave a Reply

