Break-Up Wisdom

When both people who were in the relationship are heart broken. When both people realize that loved wasn’t enough. When both know that being apart will make them happier than being together. When they realize that no matter how much they wanted to be together, sometimes things just don’t work out. Sometimes people just aren’t meant to be together. That’s when your heart breaks. That’s when its over.

If you are the one who couldn’t possibly care any less that the relationship is over, then good for you (I guess…). Just don’t go flaunting it to the other person. You let them have their own time to mend themselves, to fix what was broken. I ask one thing: don’t go around apologizing. That makes me so, so upset. Who gave you any right to take responsibility for my feelings? Who gave you that control over me? You have no right. This is how I feel and this is how I’m dealing with it. Don’t apologize like you owe me anything. Go away and leave me alone until I can stand seeing your face, let alone catch any mention of your name, again.

If you are the one who is heartbroken, whose whole world is shattered into millions of pieces, whose whole body aches…it’ll be okay. Your world is not over. You are your world. The other person just another piece of the puzzle that makes you a fuller picture. But don’t think about them. Distract yourself by whatever means you can find and whatever works for you. Don’t stalk their tumblr or twitter or Facebook or instagram or anything. Leave them be. Don’t text them or call them or email them or pass by their house. You are more than that. Think about this: that person left this relationship and left you; the relationship is over. If you keep trying to go back, you’re going to look pathetic and needy and clingy and so unsure of yourself. Don’t give them that upper hand.

I feel like I have so much more to say, but this post is already long enough as is.
I have been the one who escaped unscathed; I miss that person being in my life, but I know that me being out of their life is better for them.
I have been the broken one; memories still haunt me, any mention of that person and my stomach sinks and I want to crawl back into bed.
Its the end of you and that person, but its not the end of you.

 

 

Old post from my tumblr, dated July 10, 2012.

Leave a Reply

